Card Details

1341 5247 2716 6846

Platinum Advantage Credit Card

RBL BANKMASTERCARD

Card Issuer

RBL Bank

Joining Fee

₹499

Annual Fee

₹499

Reward Type

Reward Points

Earn Points

20% Off

On bookmyshow (up to ₹100/txn, 15 times a year)

1 Rp/₹100

On all spends

Benefits

Entertainment

20% off BookMyShow up to ₹100, 15 times a year

  • 20% off BookMyShow up to ₹100, 15 times a year
Fuel

Fuel surcharge waiver up to INR 100 per month

  • Fuel surcharge waiver of INR 100 per month

Things to Keep in Mind

2,000 welcome reward points require annual fee payment and INR 2,000 spend within 30 days of card issuance.

No welcome rewards for First Year Free cards.

BookMyShow 20% discount is subject to terms and conditions.

The bank advertises rewards on all spends and annual rewards worth INR 3,075+, but does not specify the points earned per INR 100, category-wise rates, or reward caps.

Card insights

Alternatives

If you spend…

Recommendation

Frequently Asked Questions

No. The card offers no domestic or international lounge visits.

A month on ₹499 of fees

This is RBL Bank's Platinum Advantage, a ₹499 + GST card. It is not the US "AAdvantage Platinum Select" airline card and not an Axis Bank card.

Here is what a fairly good month looks like on it:

  • One BookMyShow booking of ₹600: 20% off is ₹120, but the discount stops at ₹100 per transaction, so you save ₹100.
  • ₹6,000 of fuel in three fills of ₹2,000: the surcharge is waived, worth about ₹60 at the usual 1%.
  • ₹15,000 of other eligible spends: 150 reward points, worth roughly ₹16 to ₹37.

That is about ₹180 back in the month. Almost all of it comes from the movie and fuel perks. The points barely move the needle.

Why the points hardly count

The card earns 1 reward point per ₹100. RBL does not state a point value on this card's page, but its sibling Platinum cards value points at ₹0.11 to ₹0.25. So ₹1 lakh of spend in a year earns 1,000 points, worth about ₹110 to ₹250.

The exclusion list is long, too. Utilities, rent, insurance, education, wallet loads, fuel, government payments, EMI and cash earn nothing. The bank's "annual rewards worth ₹3,075+" headline adds up the welcome points, movie discounts and fuel waiver. It is not the earn rate.

Where the ₹499 comes back

The two perks that matter both have limits:

  • BookMyShow: 20% off, up to ₹100 per booking, 15 times a year. Best case, ₹1,500 a year.
  • Fuel: surcharge waiver up to ₹100 a month, on fills between ₹500 and ₹4,000. Small two-wheeler top-ups under ₹500 do not qualify.

With GST, the fee is about ₹589. You break even with roughly 6 movie bookings of ₹500 or more a year, or about ₹5,000 of fuel a month. The 2,000 welcome points (RBL values them at up to ₹300) come only if you pay the fee and spend ₹2,000 in the first 30 days. Cards issued first-year-free get none.

The ₹99 cost of redeeming

RBL charges ₹99 + GST on each day you redeem points. On 2,000 points worth about ₹300, the fee takes roughly ₹117. Redeem 500 points at a time and the fee is bigger than the reward. Save up and redeem once or twice a year.

There is also no spend-based fee waiver on RBL's current page. Older listings mention a ₹1 lakh waiver, but do not count on it. If you want online rewards and a waiver, the RBL Platinum Choice costs the same and reverses the fee at ₹50,000 of spend. For groceries, look at Platinum ShopSmart.

Is Platinum Advantage worth ₹499?

Only if you book movies on BookMyShow and fill fuel in ₹500 to ₹4,000 amounts most months. Then the perks cover the fee with some left over.

If you want a card that rewards everyday spending, this is not it. We also have no real user reviews of this exact card yet, so treat this as a reading of RBL's terms, not of anyone's experience. More on the issuer in our RBL Bank guide.

Credit Card Information Compiled by: Abhijeet Kumar | Reviewed by: Anmol Ratan Sachdeva