Card Details

1098 4411 7870 1734

Ultimate Credit Card

STANDARDMASTERCARD

Card Issuer

Standard Chartered Bank

Joining Fee

₹5,000

Annual Fee

₹5,000

Reward Type

Reward Points

Card Access

Standard

Changes to this card

  1. 30 Aug 2026

    Joining and renewal fees updated to Rs 5,000; EMI threshold lowered to INR 2,000; benefit details expanded.

Earn Points

5 Rp/₹150

On all other spends (1 rp = ₹1)

3 Rp/₹150

On utilities, insurance, property mgmt/rent, schools & govt

3 Rp/₹150

On supermarkets

5%

Cashback on duty-free purchases (max ₹1,000 per statement cycle)

Benefits

Lifestyle and Travel

5 reward points per ₹150 spent

  • 3.33% value-back on general eligible spends
  • 1 reward point equals INR 1 for redemption
  • Base rewards earn of 5 points per ₹150
  • 6,000 bonus reward points worth INR 6,000 on payment of the joining fee
Lounges

4 domestic lounge accesses per calendar quarter

  • 1 international lounge visit a month via…

Things to Keep in Mind

From 2 Apr 2023, utilities, supermarkets, insurance, property management/rent pay, schools, and government categories earn 3 reward points per ₹150.

From 2 Apr 2023, fuel transactions earn no reward points.

From 25 Aug 2024, overseas transactions are charged 2% forex markup at posting, replacing earlier 1.5% cashback mechanism.

Rent payment fee is 1% + taxes for MCC 6513, levied by 15th of next calendar month.

The annual-fee waiver threshold is not stated.

Card insights

What Users Are Saying

Alternatives

If you spend…

Recommendation

Same bank, simpler

Smart Credit Card

Frequently Asked Questions

Less than it used to be. Government payments now earn 3 points per ₹150, about 2%, not the 3.33% base rate.

What changed on the SC Ultimate

The Standard Chartered Ultimate still earns what it always advertised: 5 reward points per ₹150, each worth ₹1, so 3.33% on most spends, offline included. What changed is everything around that number.

  • 2 April 2023: utilities, supermarkets, insurance, rent and property management, schools and government payments dropped to 3 points per ₹150, which is 2%. Fuel stopped earning points.
  • 25 August 2024: overseas spends started carrying a flat 2% forex markup at posting, replacing the earlier cashback on the markup.
  • 2024 to 2026: users in more than 10 threads report Amazon, Croma and electronics vouchers leaving the rewards catalogue.
  • Mid 2026: users discuss a notice that Standard Chartered's card business is moving to Federal Bank, with cards, limits and points said to stay active. We have not confirmed the terms, so watch for official mail from the bank.

Note the spend unit is ₹150, not ₹100. A ₹149 spend earns nothing at the base rate.

The fee that comes back as points

There is no spend-based waiver. You pay ₹5,000 + GST, about ₹5,900, every single year. On paying the joining fee you get 6,000 reward points, worth ₹6,000. One user says the bank also offered 5,000 points at renewal. Confirm that before you count on it.

So in year one the card roughly pays for itself before you spend a rupee. After that, it depends on your spend and on whether the catalogue has something you want.

₹50,000 a month, worked out

Say ₹40,000 goes on ordinary spends and ₹10,000 on utilities and groceries.

  • ₹40,000 at 3.33% earns about ₹1,333.
  • ₹10,000 at 2% earns about ₹200.

That is roughly ₹1,533 a month, or ₹18,400 a year, against a ₹5,900 fee. On paper that is a strong return. In practice it holds only if you can redeem a point for ₹1 on something useful.

Before you apply or renew, log in and search the catalogue for the brands you actually buy. If a ₹1,000 voucher costs more than 1,000 points, your real rate is lower. If nothing fits, the 3.33% is worth nothing to you. Users say what remains leans towards apparel and lifestyle vouchers, with some hotel options.

Why people get charged at the lounge

"SC Ultimate charged for lounge access" is a real thread, and the reason is a condition many holders miss. Domestic lounges are fine: 4 visits a quarter, 16 a year, with no spend rule. International lounges through Priority Pass allow 1 visit a month, but only if you spent more than ₹20,000 on the card in the previous month. Flying in March? Make sure February crossed ₹20,000.

Limit cuts and support

Four or more threads describe sudden, large credit limit cuts with no explanation, and slow customer care when people pushed back. This is user-reported, not stated policy. Keep a second card for big payments, and redeem points before closing if it comes to that.

Our take on the SC Ultimate

Keep or take it if you spend ₹40,000 or more a month, mostly offline and outside the 2% categories, and you have checked that the current catalogue has vouchers or hotels you will use. The first-year points make it low risk to try.

Skip it if you want cash on your statement. For direct credit, users prefer the Cashback SBI Card, or the simpler Standard Chartered Smart Credit Card from the same bank.

Credit Card Information Compiled by: Abhijeet Kumar | Reviewed by: Anmol Ratan Sachdeva